Buddha · church · death · florida · gratitude · grieving · lessons · life · philosophy · serendipity

Out of my comfort zone 

Where I live there are all kinds of people from all different places of all different colors and beliefs (and driving habits).

Where I work I have the same thing. A few of my co-workers celebrated Holi yesterday; an important, and very colorful, religious holiday in Hinduism. 

Another co-workers’ mother passed away last week and we were invited to the burial ceremony and sit shiva with her. 

Two very different experiences and two things that I knew very little about. I learned something new and it took me out of my comfort zone. 

I’ve also been cleaning and clearing out, getting ready to move. Something else that’s getting me out of my comfort zone. 

I’ve lived in my house for 20 years, and I’ve lived in Florida for 30, so this is kind of surreal for me that I’ll be moving. I mean, I always knew that I wouldn’t live in Florida forever but Damn! That sure went by fast! 

It’s been more of a slow and gradual progress, so it’s not like this is a total shock, it’s almost reverse culture shock going back to Ohio after I’ve been here for so long. 

Sometimes being uncomfortable isn’t such a bad thing, it spurs on change, which can also be uncomfortable, but never lasts forever. (It only feels like it)

It’s all good. Have an uncomfortable day.

thanks for stopping to chat

