Monday Motivation · photography · sewing

Monday motivation 

Even through napping, I was still very productive yesterday. I finished the last gift bag, finished another bag that I’ve had cut out for years, and also this little clutch that goes with the bag. It was so easy and only took 3 pieces of material.

I don’t why – sometimes – it takes me so long to get things done. Do I just love the process so much I just don’t want it to end? Do I just like being busy, and the thought of having nothing to do – and being alone with my thoughts – scare me? (To be honest, it scares a lot of people, but that’s what counselors are for, and they do do a good job, if we just listen.)

I have found that having too many things to do, too many projects cut out on my table at the same time is overwhelming. I just don’t know what to do or where to start. SO much stuff clutters the mind. There have been scientific studies that show if people have too many choices, like more than 3, they just feel overwhelmed and don’t make a choice at all; or people feel stressed by so many choices that it’s a hindrance on their lives.

I get that way, really. If there are too many things going on at once, I often don’t know where to start. So I limit my choices. Now, sometimes that’s not possible, so I try to focus on just one thing. Start with just one thing, and forget about the rest, for now, and go from there. So, for example, I’ll start with finishing this bag and clutch that has been cut out for years. I won’t look at anything else on my table but that. I’ll finish that project, put it away, and then find something else that needs to be done. So starting with just one thing, and finishing that, helps me to focus and then move on to the other one thing that needs to be done, and before I know it, I’ve finished about 3 things (which I did yesterday, YAY!)

So finishing these projects was my motivation. Now I feel a sense of accomplishment and I can move on to the next one thing.

How about you?

thanks for stopping to chat

