artistic · inspiriation · Monday Motivation · Monday motivation · repurpose

Monday motivation 

I learned a trick from my dog sitter about easy functional clothes for the dog park – hospital scrubs! They are comfortable, durable, easy to wear, easy to clean, lots of pockets (very important) and best of all, I don’t care if they get dirty. The one problem I had with this particular pair (pictured above) is that I didn’t have a pocket on the left side.

What genius came up with that idea? Only pockets on one side? Now when I put my keys and my phone in my pockets, I feel like my pants are falling down on my right side. What the hell? 

So I decided to fix that. Over the weekend I found a fabric remnant for the pocket (the striped one). 


I ironed the piece, folded over the one edge, and sewed the folded ends together to finish. I centered the new pocket over the side seams at the same height as the pockets on the right side and sewed in place.  

I thought that pocket was kind of boring and wanted something a bit more colorful. The thought of going through all my remnants was kind of a drudgery, when lo and behold – yes, people still say that – staring right at me were swatches from Spoonflower

Underneath this very colorful swatch is the one that I used:


It’s a very soft stretchy material I sewed in place using a zigzag stitch, overlapping the striped remnant pocket.


And now my pants don’t fall down!

So much…on the one side…

thanks for stopping to chat

