artistic · cleaning · crafty stuff · difficulties · grateful · lessons · life · material · meditation · mental health · new start · reorganizing · stress

Maybe my clutter is the problem…

The two nicest rooms in my house are the guest room and my 2nd bath. You know why? Because they are uncluttered.

IMG_1012
No extra extraneous things to distract my mind, just clean rooms with only the necessary objects for a simple, minimalist way to live. This has actually proved to be quite calming for me, so therefore, I’m now working to get the rest of my house the same.  

Please understand, I’m not a hoarder at all, but once I started cleaning, I found myself saying more than once “oh yeah, I remember this”, and then just as quickly putting it in the goodwill box. Even though it may have been difficult to let go of this thing, I had no idea when I was going to use it (again?) and holding on to it was holding me back. 

So now I’m tackling my crafty room. As a crafty person, I’ve got lots of ideas and projects and drawings and patterns and metal and beads and material that “I swear some day I’m going to use”, but it just sits there staring at me wondering when I’m going to use it.  
And my procrastination has gotten worse as I have accumulated more things with the good intention of doing something with them. It wasn’t always that way. I had one project and I finished it. Then something else caught my eye, and I set it over here “just for now” until I finished this other thing…and it snow balled from there. 

I felt more productive only having one thing to do. I could focus on that one thing, finish it, and have a feeling of accomplishment. Now I look at my pile of stuff and walk right by.

I used to think that it was the room – that there wasn’t the right wall color or curtain pattern. Then I thought it was the room location in the house – like it was so far removed from the other rooms in my house that I felt detached (which is ridiculous because I have a one floor house of only 1100sf)  

But now I realize it’s me, and my clutter. 

So now I’m getting rid of my clutter. On the one hand it’s kinda scary, (that whole attachment thing), on the other it’s very freeing. It’s a joyful, light feeling and it’s pretty addicting. Which should help me be more productive. 
I like that.

Have an uncluttered, productive day.

thanks for stopping to chat

