jewelry · photography · sewing · studio · trash2trends · yoga

Yoga mat earrings 

Over the weekend I made some earrings out of pieces of yoga mat for my Trash2Trends project. Here I’ll show you what I did to make them.  I used all this stuff you see below:

yoga mat earrings tute

Before I did anything, I cut some small slivers of yoga mat with my rotary cutter, and I punched one small hole in each piece of mat with small hole puncher thingy so I could loop the yoga mat pieces through the jump rings. It’s also preferable to use flat nose pliers, and pliers that do not have grooves in them, when working with metal. Flat nose pliers give you more security in holding the jump rings and smooth pliers will keep from leaving marks on your metal.

So to make the earrings, first I took a small jump ring and looped it onto the bottom of the ear wire, then closed that jump ring:

Then I took a larger jump ring and added 2 smaller pieces of yoga mat:

I looped that onto the small jump ring that’s attached to the ear wire and closed that jump ring:

Next I looped a longer piece of yoga mat onto a large jump ring…

…and attached that to the jump ring with the 2 smaller pieces of yoga mat. Here I made sure to attach this jump ring so that it fell in-between the other 2 smaller pieces of yoga mat:

and VOILA! yoga mat earrings!

These are very light and swingy, really fun. The only thing I noticed is that they are so lightweight that if I’m not paying attention, I almost lost one in the backyard. (I always test drive what I make). The longer piece of yoga mat kept hitting my neck which, evidently, pushed the earring up and out of my earlobe, so I would recommend adding some of those plastic ear wire backs to keep these on securely.

I do not have a good picture of these on a person and how they look, just yet, so bear with me. I’ll get one soon, I promise. Besides, the show is this weekend, I’ll have SOOOOO many pictures to show you soon enough.

 

One thought on “Yoga mat earrings 

thanks for stopping to chat

