coping · difficulties · gratitude · grieving · inspiriation · lessons · new start · pensive stuff · philosophy · photos · psychololgy · quote · science of giving · sociology

The way you make me feel

 

I’ve had this debate with someone for quite awhile now. He insists that his gruff, blunt, and sometimes downright rude behavior is just part of his genetic makeup and he doesn’t give a damn what other people think about him. 

I said, it’s not what other people think about you, it’s how you make them feel. 

How many of us have come across someone who speaks in a condescending tone, or gives a snarky comeback to a question, or just has an attitude no matter what they say? 

Yeah, not good is it? And it makes me never want to talk to that person again. If I was dying of thirst and that person was the only one left on the planet who had water, if I was lost in the woods and being chased by rabid wolves, if the apocalypse came and I thought I was the last person on the planet and happened to come across someone else…I still wouldn’t talk to them. 

And just because you don’t like someone still doesn’t mean you have to treat them like an asshole. People are deserving of respect and love, because they are another living being on this planet. Doesn’t mean you have to like them, just don’t be an asshole. 

 

Unfortunately, this person still doesn’t get it. I kinda feel sorry for him. 

Try not to be an asshole today.  

  

thanks for stopping to chat

