new start · new year · philosophy · photos · quotes · uncluttering

What’s in store…

For the New Year:

  • a year of uncluttering. Too much clutter affects the brain in a negative way. It restricts your ability to focus, and limits your brain’s ability to process information. Clutter is great to distract you from things you don’t really want to do, but it’s also a great distractor from things you really really want to do, which is not good. So this year, the whole house is getting a good cleaning, especially my crafty room. I had a difficult time this year going in there and feeling motivated to actually do something, because I had too much clutter and things and projects that I thought I would do, but just never did. What I’m not using will be donated, to make room for the stuff that I will use.
  • speaking of cleaning – more incense. We have 4 dogs and 2 cats fer cryin’ out loud. As much as we vacuum and wash, I don’t want the house smelling like a petting zoo.
  • 15 minutes of my craft every day. Which doesn’t sound like a lot, but in our busy lives, that can mean the difference between sanity and creativity and fun, and delusional boredom. I choose the former.
  • more exercise. I choose 30 minutes a day for 5 days a week. Whether that’s bike riding, yoga, barre class, or some video on youtube, that’s what I’m gonna do. I used to take ballet class for years, at least 3x a week for 1.5 hours each class. It sounds exhausting, but after you’ve been doing it for awhile, it’s every day and normal. I never felt more calm and balanced in all my life, and I slept great. I miss that. I need that. Without exercise I am sluggish, cranky, irritable, and my sleep isn’t the greatest. It’s gonna be a slow start, but I am so ready for it.

I am also so ready for a new year. This past year has just been crap for me, in many ways, and I am so glad to start new. I know I don’t need a new year to start new, but there is something about closure of one year and the start of another that has a bit of optimism to it.

so what’s in store for you this year?

you-dont-need-a-new-year.jpg

2 thoughts on “What’s in store…

  1. I love that quote at the end, so true, although I do get the whole closure of an old year and the start of a new one, especially if the previous one was difficult. I have the ‘Big Goals’ of course, lose weight, look after myself better, get finances sorted etc, but I read an article in one of my magazines the other day that suggested that we can get too bogged down with chastising ourselves about the big resolutions we didn’t stick to we can lose sight of the small things we achieved throughout the year. This rang true for me, I realised that I had in fact achieved loads last year which hadn’t even been on the resolutions list at the start of the year, so one of my big goals this year is to take the time to write down each month all the little things I achieved throughout, whether it be finishing a piece of work to being accepted into a high end craft show. Wishing you all the best for the New Year ahead 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s why I gave myself some simple, easy things to achieve this year, as they would be easier to accomplish than some exorbitant task that would be daunting from the start. I’m of the personality that I’m more inclined to do something if I know that someone else is depending upon me, or is holding accountable, like I have to report to them. So I’m going to post my daily activities on my daily craft and exercise. It may not be riveting stuff, but these micro movements help.
      Good luck to you in your new endeavors this year!

      Liked by 1 person

thanks for stopping to chat

