crafty stuff · photos · studio

15 minutes of creativity week

So it’s been one week since I started my 15 minutes of creativity a day, and I wanted to post on my progress for the week.

I apologize for the delay, but there was a good deal on World Market furniture that we just couldn’t pass up.

So you know I told you about a pillowcase I found at the thrift store with a really cool, brightly colored print? Well, I turned it into an infinity scarf.

First you need to take out all the seams, and I mean all of them:

take apart seams

Next, iron out all the creases:

iron out creases

Now, put the right sides of the material together on the long edge and pin. You’ll be sewing this edge together first:

right sides together, sew along long end

 

Leave a gap at each short end. You’ll need this open when you sew the short ends together.

turn right side out, sew short edge together, leave opening

 

Turn right side out. Now, those open short ends you have, put the right sides together, pin and sew. You’ll have a small gap in the material where you’ll need to sew together to finish it off.

short opening

 

Here’s the opening I was telling you about. You’ll need to fold over the raw edges to the inside, pin, and sew along the outside (right side) edge to close it off:

fold in wrong edges, sew together

 

Like so.

Once you’ve closed off the end, your scarf is done! (Modeling photograph tomorrow)

It’s really easy to do and takes very little time to create your own fabulous accessory to your wardrobe. I really love scarves and find them to be a staple of my wardrobe. You can never have too many.

I hope you enjoyed this, and if you’ve been creative this week, I’d like to see/hear what you’ve done. Inspiration is everywhere, so I hope you’ll share.

see you tomorrow!

thanks for stopping to chat

